Changing Perspective

This weekend my husband and I took our 4 and 3 year olds for a walk.  If you have never taken young children into the woods, let me caution you: they will complain!  The moment the terrain became rocky, the incline grew steep, and they felt the grumble of snack time come around, the whine effect came out in full force.  I’ve been enjoying photography of our new surroundings and hubby thought it would be a great opportunity to get some autumn shots.  I agreed completely, but soon found myself questioning the decision with our two vocal kids saying it wasn’t fun anymore.  By the end of our trek in the woods, I was ready to call it a wash, until we came out of the trees and I captured the shot above.

This photograph was perspective changing in several ways.  It was the first time I had viewed my in-laws home from this vantage point.  It’s so beautiful, and I could have missed out on it! A reminder of good things at the end of difficulty.  Secondly, my attitude influences those around me.  I became excited about the view and photo I was taking, this helped our entire group pep up and feel more positive.  It didn’t stop the complaining, but helped redirect and eliminate parts of the negativity.  Finally, this shot reminded me of the importance of patience.  We are not a patient culture, and I am certainly not a patient person.  

Patience is necessary and essential to life because we rarely get what we want the moment we want it.  In order to teach my children, I need to model for them what patience looks like, and it can often end in failure!  I take heart reading these words from Paul, “I don’t mean to say that I have already achieved these things or that I have already reached perfection.  But I press on to possess that perfection for which Christ Jesus first possessed me.  No, dear brothers and sisters, I have not achieved it, but I focus on this one thing:  Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead” (Philippians 3:12-13). Quality of life can often hinge on our perspective. If I run my race with a forward facing mentality, I can learn from mistakes and take the knowledge with me into the next trial or difficulty.  (Like think long and hard before taking your 3 and 4 year olds on a long, deep woods walk!)

Leave a Reply

