When We Are Tired

I am tired.  Exhausted.  Overwhelmed by unimportant things.  Yes, none of that last thought was grammatically correct.  The broken thought is a reflection of my mind right now.  My children haven’t been sleeping well the last couple weeks, neither am I.  I live a zombie life for the moment and pray that we can return to “normal” soon.  I’ve been handling it ok, but today I feel it more.  I remember coffee and Jesus can make it right, but it feels flat to spout the idea that way.  The kids are emotional in their lack of sleep so coffee is snatched in spurts and my devotion time falls flat.

Life interruptions can rob us of moments we desperately need.  I need fuel right now.  I need to soak in God’s Word and remind myself of all the truth I need to prevent sadness, isolation, and frustration from ruling my days. So I keep moving.  Sometimes it is better to just be authentic with where we are.  This is not a bright time, but it is mine.  So I’ll keep fighting for those moments of quiet, peace, and rest, knowing they may not come. No fix, no sermon, just understanding for those who see these words and think, “me too.”

A final word:  Be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power.  Put on all of God’s armor so that you will be able to stand firm against all strategies of the devil.  For we are not fighting against flesh-and-blood enemies, but against evil rulers and authorities of the unseen world, against mighty powers in this dark world, and against evil spirits in the heavenly places.  Ephesians 6:10-12 NLT

Share your best way to find peace in the hectic in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

