Hooks and Hearts

On Monday two wonderful, genuine people launched a business.  I was so excited for them; more importantly, I was encouraged by them.  So often it is easier to lament an evil or problem rather than look for a way to help.  Brad and Maggie Perrine have found their way to address a visible need through Hooks and Hearts.  Their business sells gorgeous, warm beanie hats and for each sold, another is donated to a homeless shelter. I wanted to give a glimpse into their desire to reach out by inviting you to hear from them directly.  Maggie shared this with me:  

How we came to be…

Brad and I have always had this dream of owning our own business and being our own boss. We just never knew exactly what it would be doing.  Brad travels for work, and has been doing so for the last 2 years.  It was rough on all of us at first, but I can honestly say that we have actually grown closer as a family and most importantly closer to God because of it. Brad and I have both had this stirring inside of us that  we wanted to do something more, something to give back. Brad texted me from his hotel room late one night in September and asked me how long it would take me to knit a hat. My first thought was “What in the world is he thinking about now!” I told him it would take a very long time, considering I would have to learn how to knit first. And then I asked the question that changed everything, “Why?”.  He called me and we talked about what is now Hooks & Hearts. We talked about how our goal is not to get rich, it’s to give back. Brad immediately started researching everything from how to make the hats ourselves, to companies that make hats. We came up with a name while we were sitting at a restaurant and watching a friends band play. It basically sums up our business in those few words. Knit hats and love. Love that we want to show people who may not know how loved they are. We went to a concert in Pittsburgh and there was a young homeless man sitting outside when we left. He was holding a sign that read “I am a real person.” He was in his twenties and just looked so broken. The two dollars I had in my wallet put a huge smile on his face. It’s people like him that we as Christians are called to love and care for. That’s what we want to do through our business. We live in an area where it gets very, very cold and snowy in the winter. Why not give them something to help them stay warm and warm hearts at the same time.  This whole process has been such a whirlwind for us. We are so thankful by the amount of support and encouragement we have received from our family and friends. We can’t wait to see where God takes our business. 

I hope you will take a moment to browse their website, purchase the beanies, and share this opportunity to create impact with friends and family! www.hooksandhearts.com 

Leave a Reply

