When I Forget…

     See this cake?  It’s Black Forest Cake,  something I love and enjoy.  Until recently, that is.  Last week I had a colonoscopy, during which my doctor found a polyp and an autoimmune disorder.  I’m in my early 30s, it was a huge blessing these concerns were caught before it turned into serious health issues.  I was so incredibly thankful.  My praises were huge, especially when the biopsies came back cancer free.  Yet, my new reality is sinking in.  I am choosing a grain free/processed sugar free diet to manage my health.  It stinks.  I wish I could make it sound nicer, but this time of year makes it harder.  My cravings for sweets are still rolling around…often.   My husband ate a piece of this gorgeous, yummy cake in front of me last night…no joke.

     I was still smarting from lack of chocolate this morning when I felt a nudge on my heart, “you are fixating on what you can’t have.”  I fought against the thought a bit, after all I’m the one missing out on goodies.  Again, I felt the nudge, “what happened to the celebration?”  Ouch.  All of that good praise gone with my first intense chocolate craving.  I traded my celebration for a fixation.  My mind was so wrapped up in what I wanted, it pushed out any joy over the blessing I’d received.  The hard work of our reality can often overshadow thankfulness.  

     This time of year it is easy to become fixated:  decorations, social events, gift giving/receiving, etc.  It’s overwhelming, and oftentimes our celebration becomes marred by a holiday “to do” list.  I would encourage you to really think over your fixations (be deeply honest, nothing is too small to grab our attention) and then let them go for the true joy and celebration of Christmas.  

 For a child is born to us, a son is given to us.  The government will rest on his shoulders.  And he will be called:  Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.  His government and its peace will never end.  He will rule with fairness and justice from the throne of his ancestor David for all eternity.  The passionate commitment of the Lord of Heaven’s Armies will make this happen!  – Isaiah 9:6-7 (NLT)

2 Comments Add yours

  1. mommermom says:

    Sorry to hear about your grain free new way of life. I recently completed a Whole30 diet and I have stopped eating grains ( among other things). Not due to a any sensitivities but have been trying to eat a healthier diet. I won’t say I never have something but seldom. Good luck on your journey. If you are interested I posted a portion of my journey in January and there are links to the Whole 30 plan.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s ok! I am learning a lot about myself and my bad habits through this. I don’t believe anything goes wasted in our experience, so I try to find the silver lining :). I will check out your Whole 30 post, I’ve heard it is a great reset for your body!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

