The Pile 

I think my laundry pile laughs at me.  The closer I come to the bottom, the more futile reaching the end seems as new items are tossed on top.  There are always more dirty clothes hitting the bin.

And then there is the folding and putting away once the clothing is clean…sigh.

I will occasionally see friends posting their laundry struggles on social media; it binds us together.  I feel like I need a support group for those who wrestle with the insanity of their weekly hamper.  I know, sounds dramatic. 

I often wonder how I will ever reach my goal of total “doneness.”  My tendency is to just push harder, do more.  Obviously, I’m not doing enough if I can’t reach my goal, right?

Recently, life has felt like my laundry pile.  Once I have managed whatever concern or crisis has come up, more stress appears and adds to the mountain.    

In many ways I respond to my “life pile” the same way I approach my laundry:  do more.  Could I just tell you how absolutely exhausting “do more” becomes?  It isn’t healthy and it isn’t what God desires.

Jesus invites us away from this hamster wheel mentality when he says:

Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Matthew 11:28 NLT

Notice, He doesn’t say to hustle harder, call you a slacker, or attempt to guilt more work from you.  He’s inviting you into something special.  See this verse in Matthew from The Message translation:

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.” Matthew 11:28‭-‬30 

Jesus wants to create a relationship with you to teach freedom giving habits. (Habits which build up and give strength no matter the obstacle or situation you’re facing.)  Handling our never ending “life pile” isn’t about what we do, it’s who we do it with.  

So, how can we cope? One way is to feel the deep presence of God in the mundane.  Seeking Him in the small and seemingly insignificant creates space to breathe because He wants margin in your life.

Also, we need to hold tightly to His life giving Words and tuck them deep in our hearts.  Knowing what God’s Word says helps to prevent us from falling into anxiety and stress traps.  It also reminds us of what we should value daily.  

Friend, walk with our Creator and know the deep care which fills, not depletes.   

What is an area of your life that is exhausting you right now? 

Think of one or two ways you can create 5 minutes each day to lay your overwhelming thought, situation, or burden down before God.  Please share your ideas in the comments!

Leave a Reply

